- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

Pre-Order Now:

Stream Online:

Home Contact Us Top


Progear no Arashi Original Soundtrack :: Review by Chris

Progear no Arashi Original Soundtrack Album Title: Progear no Arashi Original Soundtrack
Record Label: Suleputer
Catalog No.: CPCA-1075
Release Date: September 26, 2003
Purchase: Buy at eBay


Cave's first horizontally scoring shooter Progear acquired more widespread popular than the company's previous works thanks to the publisher Capcom's localisation efforts. The controversial score was handled by Yukinori Kikuchi whose other experience includes Blue Stinger, Sister Princess, and Macross VF-X2. He mixed rock and orchestral elements to create thick textures and compelling rhythms that fitted the action. However, many were disappointed by the superficial approach taken and found sustained listening uninspired or downright grating. The soundtrack was released by Suleputer two years after the game and includes the looped downgraded sound version in the first half and the unlooped original sound version in the second half. Is the soundtrack a worthwhile purchase?


The first stage theme tends to be the best judge of a shooter score since most composers put a lot of effort into underscoring the stage gamers will be playing most. Progear's "To the Blue Sky" is quite a catchy theme featuring interplay between technically challenged piano and woodwind synth and an emotional development section. Supporting them is a hard drum beat and repeating power chords that give a cheesy rock influence that doesn't effectively complement the treble parts. This superficial and heavy-handed approach is maintained throughout the soundtrack and there fewer good melodies to make the approach tolerable. "Children's Oath", for instance, simply features a two guitar riff repeating against drum beats and static bass. With the two chord approach to "Blood-Stained Success", one is left wondering whether Kikuchi is setting out to be a less catchy version of Status Quo.

There is some effort in the remaining stage themes to fit game context appropriately. The rhythmical riff-based emphasis on "White Tragedy" fits a second stage demanding concentration and endurance. "Crimson Imperial Capital" deserved a bit of grandeur provided by simple orch hit scales given the impressive location. However, these variations on an already tired approach are insufficient to make the themes interesting or deep on their own. The only remaining stage theme that has replay value is "Amber Ruins" as the unpredictable drum rhythms and uncompassionate synth vocals create a very persuasive sound for those willing to overlook its theoretical deficiencies. The final stage theme "Castle of Darkness" attempts to create some ambience with a monophonic piano melody against lulling accompaniment, though only really conveys blandness. The torturing of the piano is especially unforgivable here.

Moving on to the boss theme, "Senate" is the third of the half-decent contributions here. Again Kikuchi shows his capacity to produce intense rhythms and the development section from 0:49 is arguably the peak of the score's achievement. The last boss theme attempts to create an epic and moody sound by focusing on vocals. However, the scalar vocal melodies create absolutely no tension and their accompaniment merely comprise two mind-numbing timpani. While the first encounter with this boss is likely to be so tough that it's difficult to notice the music, experience players will cringe at how poorly it is implemented. Moving to the actual decent ending themes, "Stairway to Adulthood" is a light jazz piece, "For the Brave..." is a rock-based credits theme, and "Music Box of Memories" is a short sentimental music box track. The soundtrack concludes with a 90 second voice collection before it was downgraded.


Getting a chance to consider the intricacies of Progear's soundtrack (or lack thereof) is difficult admist a clutter of bullets and sound effects when playing the game. However, it provides an appropriately heavy and action-packed accompaniment to gameplay so is successful functionally. On a stand-alone level, however, the score comes across as amateurishly composed. Most compositions are simply composed of a few harsh riffs and crisis motifs based on repeating four bar chord progressions. A few decent rhythms and catchy rhythms are not enough to make this soundtrack even passable so hold back your money in favour of some of the many better shooter soundtracks out there.

Overall Score: 3/10