- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

Home Contact Us Top


Sega Mega Drive Super Medley :: Review by Simon

Sega Mega Drive Super Medley Album Title: Sega Mega Drive Super Medley
Record Label: Scitron Digital Contents
Catalog No.: SCDC-00450
Release Date: July 20, 2005
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


The Sega Mega Drive (or Genesis if you're American) gave us some of the pinnicle of game music with its superb 16-bit madness. This three track CD comprises of three medley's taking 24 games and then doing a nonstop medley between them all for some exciting remixed madness.


The games included are: Alien Soldier, Outrun, Space Harrier II, Bare Knuckle II, Crying, Monster World III, Ristar the Shooting Star, Super Fantasy Zone, Pulseman, Super Shinobi, Ecco the Dolphin, Gunstar Heroes, Vermillion, Golden Axe II, Shining & the Darkness, Shining Force, Landstalker, Phantasy Star III, Phantasy Star II, Battle Golfer Yui, Shikinjo, Ninja Buraiden, and; Rent-a-Hero. Some you may be familar with, however I wasn't with a few of them.

Not that it really matters because each game really does just have its main theme played through in true 16-bit synth style before a seemless transition to the next game theme. On each of the three tracks, the transitions are superb and you never get bored with each piece clocking in at the 8 minute mark. It's a great trip down memory lane and the songs haven't sounded so good in a long time.

The first remix is the arranged version, which takes each song into a dance version and polishes the synths. This is probably the best version. The second mix is using all the original synths completely which is daring and apart from some drum confusion, it works perfectly. The third and final mix is the "Super Medley" which kind of bridges the two and uses both original and revised synths and a follows a different pattern of songs altogether.


Fans of 16-bit music will find heaven here. Anyone wanting to know how remixes or 16-bit music can really revolutionize your game music collection really needs to get the CD. An expert class in game music.

Overall Score: 8/10