- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape

  - Breath of Fire
  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Fire Emblem
  - Front Mission
  - Gradius
  - Grandia
  - Guilty Gear
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Lunar
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Wild Arms
  - Xeno
  - Ys
  - Zelda
  - More Series...

  - Motoaki Furukawa
  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Koji Hayama
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Miki Higashino
  - Yoshitaka Hirota
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Masaharu Iwata
  - Hiroki Kikuta
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Hayato Matsuo
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Hirokazu Tanaka
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka
  - More Composers...

  - Interviews
  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

  - Game Music Online
  - Chocobo Heaven
  - Chudah's Corner
  - CocoeBiz
  - Final Fantasy XIII
  - FF Music Radio
  - The Seikens
  - VGM Rush Home Contact Us Top


Subarashiki Kono Sekai: Lullaby For You - JYONGRI :: Review by Lex

Subarashiki Kono Sekai: Lullaby For You - JYONGRI Album Title: Subarashiki Kono Sekai: Lullaby For You - JYONGRI
Record Label: Toshiba EMI
Catalog No.: TOCT-22284
Release Date: July 25, 2007
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


This is JYONGRI's third single and it was released on July 25, 2007. This single reached #12 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and it has so far sold 8,652 copies. The title track was used as the theme song for the Square Enix video game Subarashiki Kono Sekai (known as It's a Wonderful World overseas). Here are my thoughts about the release, originally published in my J-Pop music blog Beyond the Sea.

The opening piano chords of Lullaby For You are really pretty and set the gentle tone of this ballad. The song adds some R&B beats in the mix when it draws closer to the chorus. Speaking of the chorus, the vocals are great and JYONGRI puts a lot of emotion into her voice. This is a well done song.

The two new B-sides on the single are both upbeat tracks, the first one having a more aggressive R&B style to it. "Catch Me" starts off promising but the annoying chorus kind of ruins it. The English lyrics of the song are cheesy too: "Catch me if you can" and "Gotta be a macho man".

I liked the other B-side "Lovers Drive" a lot more. It's very poppy and JYONGRI's vocals really add flavor to the song. The chorus is also fantastic. The only problem I had with the song was its ending; the English lyrics at the end really annoyed me: "Sunny day, feels like it's a holiday, come my way, so much fun like a birthday". Those lyrics can also be heard as the background vocals during the chorus but, still, it's a bad way to end the song.

The next track is a live version of "Yakusoku", one of the songs from her debut album Close To Fantasy. Instead of the piano arrangement of the original, it is replaced by the acoustic guitar. Compared to other live versions of other artists, the quality of this one is sort of bad because everything sounds slightly muffled. Anyway, JYONGRI sings amazingly well live so I'm not really complaining about sound quality.

Overall Score: 7/10