- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Final Fantasy IV Celtic Moon :: Review by Sophia

Final Fantasy IV Celtic Moon Album Title: Final Fantasy IV Celtic Moon
Record Label: NTT Publishing
Catalog No.: N30D-006 (1st Print); NTCP-5017 (Reprint)
Release Date: October 28, 1991; October 1, 2004
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


This is a fantastic album, especially if you enjoy Celtic music. It's so nice to hear Final Fantasy IV's music arranged with more than one instrument, rather than the old Super Nintendo MIDI music. Recorded in Ireland, and also performed and arranged by Irish musicians, this truly captures the Irish and Final Fantasy feel all in one.

Track-by-Track Reviews

1) The Prelude

The soft accompaniment of the harp and the main melody of the timber flute create a mesmerizing intro theme, very similar to the first time we all heard it in the game. (8/10)

2) Prologue...

The true Celtic feel comes into play with this track. This rendition of the prologue strays from the main melody, but it incorporates the important aspects of the piece. (9/10)

3) Chocobo-Chocobo

The original chocobo noises are heard in the background, accompanied by the fiddle. Doesn't it make you want to get up and square dance? This arrangement is so much fun to listen to. (8/10)

4) Into the Darkness

The parts of the piece where you hear the actual cave theme bring you right back into the game. Mysterious and haunting, the instruments used were very fitting for this specific track. These arrangements wander from the main tune to give it more depth and some additional creativity. (9/10)

5) Main Theme of Final Fantasy IV

With the synthesized original Super Nintendo music in the background, it sounds almost exactly as it did in the game. It just makes you realize how great the technology and music was even back then. (9/10)

6) Welcome to Our Town!

I'm not sure how to describe this one except that it's quite 'quaint' in some areas. It picks up the pace later on. I wonder if they actually used the spoons? (9/10)

7) Theme of Love

String instruments have this magical way of making things seem sad. This is a beautiful piece, filled with emotion. (9/10)

8) Melody of Lute

They didn't actually use a lute for this but they did use an Irish harp. Many instruments chime in later on, creating a fantastic multi-layer harmony. (9/10)

9) Parom & Polom

The twins get their upbeat and cheerful theme redone Irish style. Final Fantasy IV fans should be happy with this one. (9/10)

10) Giotto, the Great King

Already an extremely catchy tune, this theme translates perfectly with the instruments used. I really enjoy how the arranger always comes up with her own addition to the original. It's always a surprise and a delight to listen to. (9/10)

11) Dancing Calcobrena

If you like waltzing to creepy music, this one is for you. I wouldn't have minded if the game were redone with this track as the music for this scene. (9/10)

12) Mystic Mysidia

The tune for Mysidia was always very humorous for me. I'm not sure why, but it just seemed very bizarre and silly. This version gives it a different feel that is hard to describe � it is a bit darker than the original but still a pleasure to listen to. (10/10)

13) Illusionary World

An eerie tune that gives me goosebumps is at the intro of this version. When the Celtic part kicks in, it turns into a lively dance. There are a few different themes in this track, which makes it very diverse and interesting. (8/10)

14) Rydia

As soon as you hear the first notes, you'll fall in love with this track. This spellbinding piece includes vocals by the arranger herself. This version of Rydia is as perfect as it gets. (10/10)

15) Troian Beauty

The warm and welcoming theme of Troian returns in this version with the harp and fiddle. This lovely track evokes the imagery of the picturesque kingdom that it represents. (10/10)


It's so nice to be able to hear the sounds of a tin whistle, fiddle, accordion, and harp, rather than the computerized sounds that flood the music industry today. Even though this might not be your usual style of video game music, Nobuo's work translates very well in all different styles. Each track stays true to the Final Fantasy IV Original Sound Version but incorporates some new and exciting additions. It is very fitting that this particular Final Fantasy was arranged Celtic style. I'm not sure if any of the other Final Fantasy original scores would sound as good arranged in this style, though I certainly wouldn't mind if they did come out with more!

Overall Score: 9/10