- Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Tekken
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

  - Vocalists
  - The Black Mages
  - The Star Onions

Home Contact Us Top


Crisis Core Final Fantasy VII: Clap & Love - Ayaka :: Review by Lex

Crisis Core Final Fantasy VII: Clap & Love - Ayaka Album Title: Crisis Core Final Fantasy VII: Clap & Love - Ayaka
Record Label: Warner Music Japan
Catalog No.: WPCL-10428
Release Date: September 12, 2007
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


This is Ayaka's sixth single and the normal edition was released on September 5, 2007 while the CD+DVD edition was released a week later on September 12. This single reached #5 on the Oricon Weekly Charts and it has sold 67,157 copies. "Clap & Love" was used as theme song for the drama Jigoku no Sata mo Yome Shidai, while "Why" was the theme song for the Square Enix video game Crisis Core Final Fantasy VII. Here are my thoughts about the release, originally published in my J-Pop music blog Beyond the Sea.

On the normal edition of the single, "Clap & Love" is the first track. The most surprising thing about this song is Ayaka's lower pitched vocals. I know that her voice is naturally 'husky', but it's even huskier in this song. I did like that it does make her voice sound more soulful though. As for the music, it's very poppy and it mixes clapping sounds with upbeat electric guitar. The song's use of the vocoder to create an artificial voice at the beginning and end is also a very cool addition.

On the limited CD+DVD edition, "Why" is the first track. I guess my expectations for this song were a little too high since it was the theme song to a Final Fantasy game. The song sounded very average and bland compared to "Clap & Love". However, Ayaka still delivers an excellent vocal performance.

On both editions, there is a live version of "Peace Loving People", the B-side from the Real voice single. This song has somewhat become a staple at Ayaka concerts because she always performs it near the end and always does a little talk before singing it. She also talks during the instrumentals of the song and you can hear the audience clapping in the background. That's exactly what you get in this fantastic live recording.

Overall Score: 7/10