- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Makai Senki Disgaea 4 -The Fuka and Desco Show- Maxi Single :: Review by Don

Makai Senki Disgaea 4 -The Fuka and Desco Show- Maxi Single Album Title: Makai Senki Disgaea 4 - The Fuka and Desco Show- Maxi Single
Record Label: Nippon Ichi Software
Catalog No.: N/A
Release Date: October 27, 2011
Purchase: Buy at eBay


Disgaea 4: The Fuka and Desco Show was downloadable content dedicated to popular characters from Disgaea 4: Absence of Justice. A maxi single was released with the physical edition of the title, featuring five tracks.


The album opens with "Atashi Announcement," sung by Suzuko Mimori. The song, manages to capture the more playful aspects of the Disgaea series. However, I think that the vocalist's performance, compared to her performance on the "Our Eternity" from the Vita version of Disgaea 3, is lacking. It has a much cuter tone that does fit with the music, but many may find her voice to be a bit on the grating side. The music, however, is quite fun and definitely manages to fit the music established in the Disgaea 4 universe.

The next vocal theme, "Sadistic Emotion," is sung by Mitsuki Nakae and has a very sultry sound to it. I think that the vocalist, for the most part, manages to capture a sultry tone in her voice, but at times, she can get a bit overbearing. The smoky atmosphere of the music is quite nice, though, and definitely shows off that Disgaea sound. "The Maiden Who Dreams is a Princess," sung by Shita θ, is another great vocal performance. The overall tone of the theme is quite playful and helps give off a bit of a magical vibe and I really like the quirky electronic tones that combine nicely with the guitar and strings work. Compared to other Disgaea vocal themes though, it does come off in sort of the middle ground.

As with the soundtrack, Tenpei Sato offers his vocals for a track and it's probably my favorite track on the album. Titled "Naked Requiem," it opens up with a beautiful piano passage before moving into an energetic rock theme. While Tenpei Sato's vocal work may be a select taste, I think they really fit with this style of music. Overall, it's an energetic, yet beautiful, theme that boasts a strong melody, some wonderful harmonies in the form of strings and choral work, and a simple, but nice, guitar solo. The last theme on the album is the only instrumental theme and I'm presuming it's a climactic battle theme. Titled "Tri-Angel," it has a very Disgaea sound to it, offering sultry vocal accompaniment, some jazzy synthesizer and guitar work, and some quirky electronic work. Overall, it's a theme with a pretty catchy melody and fans of his more energetic instrumentals will probably enjoy this as well.


Overall, I find this single to be fairly successful. It manages to capture the Disgaea sound quite nicely and while the abundance of vocal performances may upset some, I think that they all capture the Disgaea atmosphere quite nicely. This album probably won't be released as a bonus in the West so the best resort would be to get it on an auction site for those interested.

Overall Score: 6/10