- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


10 Stories - Gimme Gimme :: Review by Don

10 Stories - Gimme Gimme Album Title: 10 Stories - Gimme Gimme
Record Label: Dog Ear Records
Catalog No.: iTunes
Release Date: January 11, 2010
Purchase: Buy at iTunes


You know, it's been 15 years since Uematsu's first solo album, Phantasmagoria, and I rather enjoyed it. Fortunately, he is producing his second solo album this year, entitled 10 Stories. Hints so far are that the album will be fun and varied one dedicated to telling some children's stories.

Uematsu's fourth single from the upcoming album is entitled "Gimme Gimme" and was released through iTunes on January 11, 2010. The style of this single is more along the lines of the playful styles heard earlier, but it's still not quite as peppy. Compared to the other songs released thus far, how does this one turn out?

The music behind this theme is quite interesting. It has a bit of funk to it, with what seems like some bluegrass and honkytonk influences. As I listen to this single, I'm definitely digging the jazzy piano, even if it is quite simple. In addition, the acoustic guitar work, and the harmonica adds a nice bluegrass touch. Oh yeah, and you can't forget the cowbell!

The vocal work is pretty cool too. There's some nice vocal layering over the main melody. In the end, it's another intriguing release from the upcoming album. I'm not sure if there is going to be another single, since the full album releases in just under two months, but I'm looking forward to the final product.

Overall Score: 8/10