- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Final Fantasy VII Piano Collections :: Review by Christina Chan

Final Fantasy VII Piano Collections Album Title: Final Fantasy VII Piano Collections
Record Label: DigiCube (1st Edition); Square Enix (Reprint)
Catalog No.: SSCX-10111; SQEX-10020
Release Date: December 3, 2003; May 10, 2004
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


The following reviews are all according to mine and other's opinions. Although I'm a big fan of the Final Fantasy series, I am also a fan of Nobuo Uematsu's music. I think Final Fantasy VII music arranged into a Piano Collections album sounded like an item worth buying — I thought that most of the music in the actual game would sound great on piano so I found it on eBay and ordered it.

Track-by-Track Reviews

1) Tifa's Theme

This track was one that would calm you after a day of hard work — it's comforting and gentle, yet quite sad as well. A good memorable track that could soothe the roughest of minds at the end of the day. It sounds really good on the piano because the instrument is ideal for giving it a really soft and gentle sound. Overall, a very good track. (8/10)

2) Final Fantasy VII Main Theme

This became one of my favourite tracks on this album because I missed the game and feeling you get from playing on it. During the start of the track, it was calm and peaceful, but, as it got further in, it became more powerful as thicker chords and harmonies were added; it all sounding so amazing. It was just like the world map music but with more emotion. A great track! (9/10)

3) Cinco de Chocobo

Hmmm, this track didn't appeal to me as much as the others, though it was good. The only bad thing I would say is that it was too short, probably due to people getting sick of listening to it for too long. But, the idea of that jazzy Chocobo tune from the game knocked onto the piano sounded effective. Not my favourite, but it was alright. (6/10)

4) Ahead on Our Way

This track was very soft and mellow. I found it fabulous on the piano since it was gentle and had good tune. It worked well with the climate and as it changed into the loudest and most harmonic part, I thought it sounded sensational. Overall, very good. (8/10)

5) Fighting

This track is just not the type of tune that would sound good on the piano, so it was one of the tracks that I would be most tempted to skip. It sounded like a lot of hard work was put into it since it was so fast and didn't sound that bad; I would say it must have been a challenging piece to play. I know that changing the battle theme to piano version must have taken a lot of hard work and to make it sound as lively as this must've taken a lot of effort. But, to me, it sounded quite messy and still doesn't appeal to me. Not my cup of tea. (5/10)

6) Cosmo Canyon

I didn't like this track simply because it didn't really maintain its tribal 'Red Indian' style. When the drums and the flute had disappeared, it didn't have the same feelings as the original. I thought that they tried just a bit too hard. But, I wouldn't say it was bad — it wasn't to my taste, but I am sure other people would have enjoyed it. (6/10)

7) Gold Saucer

This track sounded great! So bouncy and cute! It did keep that fancy sort of style in it like in the game and ended up succeeding in trying to evoke a happy feeling. It's a really good track that is memorable. I'm sure those of you that've played the game found the golden saucer a great place and so this piece just represented how it was. (8/10)

8) Farm Boy

Erm. To me this piece was a little too mellow and boring, although I generally like it. Sure, it's slow-paced, but what else would you expect for a theme of a Chocobo stable? I thought it was quite sweet and sounded quite nice so to me. However, after listening to the other tracks, you'll probably forget about this one, even if it is a good piece of work when you listen back to it. (6/10)

9) Rufus' Welcoming Ceremony

Now this is a track you'll remember! In the game it was a great parade march and now in piano version, it still sounds great! Still lively, still positive, and still fantastic! I think it's a track that could really cheer you up. After listening to this track, if you are planning to purchase it, you might find that there's nothing special about it, but most people I've met all think it's great. Overall, absolutely fantastic. (9/10)

10) J-E-N-O-V-A

When I listened to this track, I immediately thought that it sounded really different from the game. Hearing it in the game made me think that it was a lively battle theme that was weird, just like Jenova herself. But, after hearing it a couple of more times, I appreciated it and started to think that in other people's mind, this theme was how they imagined: quite haunting and abnormal. To me, I think it's well done and certainly didn't let me down. (8/10)

11) Aerith's Theme

This song on the piano sounds absolutely phenomenal: so soft, gentle, graceful, and just SO SAD! It never crosses the boundaries of being too loud and starting to sound violent, always maintaining that peacefulness. I can clearly say that this is one of the best songs that Nobuo Uematsu has ever composed — it sweeps me clean off my feet and sends me almost weeping. It fits in so well with the character of Aerith and I'll never get tired of it. (7/10)

12) One Winged Angel

There's so much to say about this track, I hardly know where to start! Another one of Uematsu's masterpieces, this piece sounds so incredible. People that've played the game will know that Sephiroth's theme is dark and sinister. This theme presents that in an effective way. I know people may find it sounding quite scary but it blew me away — it sounded so fast, so bizarre, and like one of those pieces you would hear from Beethoven (one of those stupidly fast ones that sound impossible to play). Honestly speaking, this song is like marmite; you either love it or you hate it! (10/10)

13) Descendent of Shinobi

Listening to this track makes me think that it's positive and quite bouncy. It sounds excellent on the piano as much as it did in the game. I think it portrays Yuffie's character really well: really spunky and quite cocky. A great way to finish the album, nice and fancy — after hearing the really dark themes like "J-E-N-O-V-A" and "One Winged Angel," you'll probably be tired of it all and hearing this song would refresh your ears and slot in a positive side to it all. Overall, a good track. (9/10)


This album completely blew me away — all the songs didn't sound bad at all and most of them were unbelievably good! I would say that this is a CD I'll never forget; I think it's perfect. I'm sure that those of you purchasing this CD will find it interesting as well, so keep your eyes peeled for this one!

Overall Score: 9/10