- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Romancing SaGa 3 Prologue :: Review by Chris

Romancing SaGa 3 Prologue Album Title: Romancing SaGa 3 Prologue
Record Label: NTT Publishing
Catalog No.: Promotional
Release Date: 1995
Purchase: Buy at eBay


In Japan, a special book was released to promote Romancing SaGa 3. It contains 64 pages with information on the script, characters, gameplay, and artwork for the game, as well as an interview with Kenji Ito. In addition, there was a soundtrack included featuring the various character themes from the game.


Overall, the character-based anthems portray the diverse cast well. Whether Thomas' mellow musings or Mikhail's overstated ramblings, Sara's sentimental orgel solo or Monica's regal chamber arrangement, the portrayals are quite linear and stereotypical, but nevertheless fitting.

Kenji Ito has also put considerable effort into ensuring that the tracks are quite enjoyable on a stand-alone level. In Mikhail and Harid's themes, in particular, the composer places a strong focus on the melodies. These tracks become especially memorable with their extensive use in the game.

The themes for Julian and Katharina have become particularly popular and build upon Ito's talents as a Latin jazz composer. It's impressive how he is able to offer such infectious melodies and rhythms while working in this style. In addition, the synthesis is surprisingly good for the Super Nintendo.


This soundtrack is a decent bonus with the Romancing SaGa 3 promotional book. It introduces the characters of the game effectively and demonstrates Kenji Ito's capacity to write fitting character themes. That said, it would be more economical and satisfying for most consumers to purchase the full soundtrack instead.

Overall Score: 5/10