- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Persona 2 Innocent Sin - The Errors of Their Youth :: Review by Chris

Persona 2 Innocent Sin - The Errors of Their Youth Album Title: Persona 2 Innocent Sin - The Errors of Their Youth
Record Label: King Records
Catalog No.: KICA-5046
Release Date: March 24, 2000
Purchase: Buy at eBay


Ahh! An arranged album that combines the favourite things of every Westerner. Persona 2 Innocent Sin - The Errors of Their Youth features 12 Japanese drama tracks alternated with seven dance vocal themes in Japanese and Engrish. A conventional arranged album with orchestrations, rock bands, or voiceless techno just wouldn't have sufficed, especially after the original crammed so many promising themes on to two discs. In all seriousness, the album is a bizarre conception within Megaten's discography and an obvious attempt for Atlus to expand into the drama and vocal album sector that Tokimeki Memorial was monopolising on. It's best most Westerners turn away now as the album doesn't have much to offer them. Those who are for some reason interested should read on to see what is offered...


The drama seems moderately well-acted and well-produced. Each youth in the game is portrayed by a distinctive voice actor and the villainous figures are also effectively portrayed. However, a lot of the tracks feature a particularly annoying and hysterical male voice actor. The instrumental backing tracks and sound effects are incorporated in appropriate places to enhance the mood or create a sense of time and place. There is a mixture of music arranged from the game and short compositions created specifically for the drama, though the latter certainly predominates. Even the Velvet Room chapters use music fleetingly and only hint at Shoji Meguro's classic theme. Of course, the voices are the main focus and most that do not understand Japanese will feel alienated listening to these tracks.

"Open Your Heart" is a house remix blending soulful female vocals and 'feel good' electronic beats. Though parts of the themes are repetitive, this can be advantageous, since it makes the contrasting sections even more passionate and Rie Ishiyama's repetition of 'open your heart' and 'throw yourself' really adds to the mesmerising sound. There is a lot on offer here and it can take people to some interesting places. "China Luv" also takes a house approach in combination with a Chinese-influenced vocal style suitable for the character portrayed, Ginko. Although a pretty unusual take on a once straightforward theme, some of the electronic samples will sound generic ten years later, especially around the 1:49 mark. On the other hand, "Luv Beam" is a high energy remix featuring all sorts of electronic breakbeats and industrial influences. The distorted male vocals emanate from the web of beats below resulting in some especially powerful or emotional sections.

The other vocal tracks are a mixed bag in more ways than one. "X trip ~ X re-construction" is a relatively poor attempt at an R'n'B track. Its string melodies are a little more familiar, though the theme is too slow and repetitive for them to come across well. Furthermore, the utterings of 'what do we have?' quickly become irritating. "I'm In You" inspires imagery of a dark moody city scene with its blend of jazzy piano chords and rich female vocals. This one offers some of the most beautiful soundscapes of the album, though is overly repetitive during its development. "Truth I Need" is basically another high quality composition, featuring some especially catchy parts. However, Isao Mizoguchi's vocals sadly feel out-of-place and mispronounced. Previewing Persona 2: Eternal Punishment, "Persona Mambo" leads things out on an upbeat note with a blend of traditional mambo rhythms and electronic dance beats. The resultant sound is quite unusual, so the theme is probably another select taste.


Persona 2 Innocent Sin - The Errors of Their Youth is far from a bad production. After all, both the vocal and drama tracks are well-produced, engaging, and creative. However, this album is definitely not targeted for Westerners given its Japanese language throughout and peculiar styles. Furthermore, it only has a limited relation to the original score, even though it would have really benefited from a condensed yet elaborate arranged album. The album is worthwhile for those with a high affinity for upbeat vocal dance tracks or those who are able to understand Japanese dramas. The rest should stick with the flawed yet more accessible original score.

Overall Score: 6/10