- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


The Virgin Child Makes Her Wish Without Feeling Anything :: Review by Chris

No More Heroes: The Virgin Child Makes Her Wish Without Feeling Anything - Brad Holmes Album Title: No More Heroes: The Virgin Child Makes Her Wish Without Feeling Anything - Brad Holmes
Record Label: Grasshopper Manufacture
Catalog No.: GHMR-009
Release Date: June 25, 2008
Purchase: Buy at eBay


"The Virgin Child Makes Her Wish Without Feeling Anything" is the long-winded title for the so-called theme song for No More Heroes. It's not really theme song material as it is just 1:33 long and mainly created for a specific in-game context. However, Grasshopper Manufacture didn't have rights to the true theme song "Heavenly Song" and instead promoted the hell out of this one. They went too far by releasing a single dedicated to it.


"The Virgin Child..." does a lot right in context. It is the theme song for Dr. Peace, an old, corrupt American detective turned assassin. The dated lounge feel of the song certainly represents the character's old detective routes. Meanwhile Brad Holmes' vocals certainly capture his American nationality and a hint of that corruption too, while SUDA51's lyrics are closely tied to the story of the game and particularly represent the character Jeane. The song itself feels quite special within the game too, especially when positioned before an important fight. However, it is perhaps underwhelming on a stand-alone level and often requires repeated listens to enjoy.

Now to the music itself. There's something simple yet tragic in the vocals and restrained instrumentals during the first sections of the song. However, it's the increasing instrumentation from the 1:11 that makes it feel particularly special. In fact, the end could have come from a Tarantino movie. Despite the strengths of the original composition, it isn't enough to rescue the single. While it made sense for the track to end at the 1:33 mark in the game, it is highly disappointing that the single version does the same when there was so much opportunity for development. It hardly provides value for money and listeners can receive the same piece on the full soundtrack release instead. Listeners are essential paying 1000 yen for a short event cue.

The remaining three tracks on the single are simple variations on the original and each also end at the 1:33 mark. The trumpet version features slightly more extravagant trumpet work than the original, but it's difficult to tell the difference. The saxophone version meanwhile replaces one trumpet with the saxophone, but never really does anything with the instrument. And of course there is the obligatory karaoke version that sounds even more hollow than before. Great for a very short karaoke set though.


To sum up, the single dedicated to "The Virgin Child Makes Her Wish Without Feeling Anything" is a waste of money. The song itself is effective and emotional, but not really deserving of a full single. The single doesn't do much more with it than the original version in the No More Heroes Original Soundtrack. It's still less than two minutes long and the three variations are worthless. If you like this song, just stick to the soundtrack release instead. That one offers three discs of gold that is certainly good value for money.

Overall Score: 3/10