- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Breath of Fire II Original Soundtrack (Special Box Version) :: Review by Chris

Breath of Fire II Original Soundtrack (Special Box Version) Album Title Breath of Fire II Original Soundtrack (Special Box Version)
Record Label: Suleputer
Catalog No.: CPCA-10148/9
Release Date: March 31, 2006
Purchase: Buy at eBay


The Super Nintendo's Breath of Fire II continued Capcom's dragon saga in 1994 to largely impressive results. Of all the scores in the series, Breath of Fire II's has the most noticeable continuity with its predecessor. Among the similarities include the focus on orchestral elements, the use of RPG staples, and the employment of similar synth samples. However, the ensemble team who scored the original Breath of Fire were replaced by a single composer, Yuko Takehara. While a talented composer, not all her contributions to this score are a clear progression from the predecessor. The initial soundtrack release for the game was incomplete, featuring one disc of music, though Capcom eventually resolved this by releasing a complete box set. Not all of the exclusives were worthwhile, however...


As evidenced from the opening themes, Breath' of Fire II continues the epic orchestral focus of the series. Yet whereas Breath of Fire featured elaborate gothic-tinged orchestrations, the treatment of the orchestra is often plain and straightforward here, if still effective. With its relentless chords and thunderous percussion, "The Destined Child", for instance, makes a massive impact despite its brevity and unoriginality. Other tracks such as "Coliseum", "Century of the Patriarch", and even the staff roll "Thank You, Everyone" also feature loud top-heavy orchestration that is highly striking in the game, but are a little obnoxious outside it. More moody tracks such as "Ther World is Trembling", "Cold and Dark", and "No One Knows" are also too dense yet static to be immersive. In general, Takehara's approach sometimes feels a little lazy and unartistic compared with that offered by Yamaguchi on the previous score. However, it's not an absolute regression, since the music works almost flawlessly within the game.

That said, Yuko Takehara had an above-average command of orchestration for a game music composer back in the day. Some of her works carried over on to the box set are especially reflective of this. "Kingdom", for instance, is a classically-oriented town theme with period phrasing and chamber orchestration. The most remarkable feature of this composition is the way it develops from a frivolous A section towards a much deeper B section, culminating in some striking fanfare figures at the 0:31 mark. "Clumsy Dance" is also far more intricate than the context demanded and could have sufficed perfectly fine as a short bouncy ditty; the fact that Takehara took the time to score a wistful development section makes the track worthwhile out of context, though. Other tracks that go way beyond the call of duty include "We're Ranger" with its delightful flute trills, "Let Me Sleep..." with its dreamy harp work, and "Left Unspoken" with its electric piano contemplations.

The most disappointing aspect of the entire Breath of Fire II score are its action themes. Given the rest of the soundtrack is dominated by traditional orchestral music, the rock stylings of these thankfully few themes provides quite an awkward contrast. "Cross Counter" packs a lot into its short playtime, entering a number of contrasting sections; however, none of these sections are strong enough for a normal battle theme and some of the treble synth sounds quite gimmicky. "I'll Do It" is one of the better implemented rock tracks on the Super Nintendo and has a real thrust, but unfortunately is let down by its fairly repetitive riff-based composition. Box set exclusives such as "Pincer Attack" and "Critical Moment" are also little better than the average hurry themes. "Lethal Dose" is a better fit for the score with its orchestral stylings, but is surprisingly low-key for a final battle theme, transitioning between slow-building brooding section and more urgent ones, without ever really sounding climactic.

Finally, it should be noted that there are occasionally moments in the score that reference the themes and styles of the original Breath of Fire. "Please, God" is a box set exclusive featuring a pleasant pipe organ. However, probably "God of Decadence" is the closest the soundtrack comes to emulating the gothic style Yamaguchi built up on the previous score. This is an invention featuring interweaving choral and pipe organ writing. The composition is among the more authentic-sounding Baroque imitations on the Super Nintendo and the synthesis of both elements is also highly impressive. Following the gorgeous "The Closing of the Dragon's Eye at the End of the Tale", there is also a delightful arrangement of "Starting the Journey" in the penultimate track "Breath of Fire", featuring more intricate countermelodies and enhanced synth. It would have been a worthy main theme for the series had it not been dropped in subsequent scores.


Breath of Fire II does often resemble a vanilla orchestral RPG score, especially when sandwiched between its gothic predecessor and jazzy successor. However, it's extremely evident during the course of the soundtrack that Takehara is capable of producing ambitious and elaborate compositions too. It's just a pity that a lot of the remaining material is quite superficial and lazy — albeit sufficient in context — perhaps due to demanding schedules. This is particularly emphasised in the box set and, while little of the additional material is bad, it generally feels like superfluous filler. However, there is enough gold offered here to make the soundtrack still worth purchasing, especially after playing the game. The box set version is ideal for completists, though the one disc release features most of the important pieces from the game and less of the filler for those somehow not interested in the other four soundtracks.

Overall Score: 7/10