- Western Games
  - Square Enix
  - Nintendo
  - Konami
  - Falcom
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Mistwalker
  - Cave
  - Basiscape

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack - :: Review by Dave

Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack - Album Title: Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack -
Record Label: Treasure
Catalog No.: Promotional
Release Date: 1998
Purchase: Buy at eBay


Promotional albums can give a great taster of the music featured in the game, despite their commercialistic nature and short lengths. Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack - is one such example, as it provides a taste to the main soundtrack through its frequent integration of the main theme, but is also unique in that its contents are exclusive to this album only. Is it really worth buying, though, even for hardcore Sakimoto fans?

On the Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack +, the ominous "Quickening" started off the album, but in many ways gave the listener the wrong impression of what to expect. "Title Back (Out Take)" would have been a perfect opening track that avoided any cause of confusion. First off, it has a much better build up than "Quickening" and features a great amount of dynamic contrasts that make the theme seem grand and introductive. The next track, "Return (Early Take)," is longer than the final version that features on the soundtrack, and in some ways, it is a lot better. Admittedly, the first section loops repeatedly before receiving any development, but the main melody that is carried through the entire track is even more prominent than in the original track. Added to this is a sense of mystery evoked by the transcending chimes, replaced by tubular bells in Soundtrack +, which makes this version slightly better. "? (Out Take)" is a little disappointing, almost certainly not included the main soundtrack because it was both brief and a straightforward arrangement of the main theme. The orchestration of the track is interesting, but it doesn't really go anywhere.

"For Stage-? (Out Take)" is much more active than the stage themes in the game, but its development just doesn't cut it. The music seems to turn into a random blur of notes as the track proceeds and this is mainly due to the percussion in the background of the track. "Origin (Out Take)" is a nice enough track which is as ominous as one would expect, though lacks the power and development of the original "Origin." The last two tracks on the album are short, but quite promising. "Ending Movie 1 / Take 1 (Out Take)" is a vigorous track that is filled with fear and orchestral suspense. What it could have been with a little bit more development... "Ending Movie 1 / Take 3 (Out Take)" shares a similar name, but its only musical similarity is that it is an ambient gem that features a choir and a piano which beautifully play along together. Naturally, there isn't a lot to this track due to its length, but it has signs of promise all over it.

Overall, this album should impress most listeners, and although it can hardly be placed in the same class as the Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack +, the experience is a pleasant and fulfilling one. This album is everything that you would expect a promotional album to be like from Sakimoto — with the themes being diverse and promising, the orchestral style that they are given really lets the melodies shine. Only the most hardcore Radiant Silvergun fans should consider it, however, as Radiant Silvergun Soundtrack + is a longer, cheaper, and more accessible, comprehensive, and enjoyable interpretation of Radiant Silvergun's track. Soundtrack - is a good collector's find with some curious out takes, but features nothing noteworthy for the casual fan. Buy Soundtrack + instead.

Overall Score: 5/10