- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Yoshihiro Sato

Yoshihiro Sato Date of Birth: July 30, 1967
Musical Influences: Randy Rhoads, Tony MacAlpine, J.S. Bach
Instruments: Guitar
Game Works: Cyber Org


Note: This biography was written exclusively for Square Enix Music Online by Z-Freak and Chris and is under copyright.

Yoshihiro Sato was born on July 30, 1967 and is musically influenced by Randy Rhoads, Tony Macalpine, and J.S. Bach. His only known score is for the PlayStation action game Cyber Org, a collaboration between Fuzz Box and Square, released in 1999. Its score, the Cyber Org Original Soundtrack, combined rock and gothic styles together in a fusion that was, at that time, unique to the Square's discography. Most notable for its fast-paced rock themes, their driving rhythms, impressive solos, and unforgettable cues were the consequence of inspired composition and actual live performances, an unusual feature for the PlayStation console. The electric guitar performance was Sato's own work, and his performances succeeded in being extremely impressive, passionate, and technically intricate, described by a number of people as the best guitar work to ever feature in a Square album.

Aside from rock compositions, Sato created some acoustic compositions, mostly used as event and setting themes, placed largely on the album's second disc. In addition, the Cyber Org soundtrack featured a 10 minute bonus track, entitled "Symphony No. 1," a medley of four of the game's main theme around the harmonic framework of Pachelbel's 'Canon in D'. These tracks are often considered less remarkable and it's regarded that the principle strength of Cyber Org is its guitar use. Though Sato hasn't been known to create anything since Cyber Org, this single soundtrack allowed him to leave his mark nonetheless, proving diverse and original, if a little inconsistent. Unfortunately, the obscurity of the game it accompanies has meant the album receives very little recognition, remaining one of the rarest gems available.

List of Relevant Projects

Year Game / Role Console
1999 Cyber Org (FuzzBox / Square)
Composition / Arrangement / Performance

List of Covered Albums

Album Title Catalog No.
Cyber Org Original Soundtrack SSCX-10029