- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


Final Fantasy IX Piano Collections :: Review by Soapy

Final Fantasy IX Piano Collections Album Title: Final Fantasy IX Piano Collections
Record Label: DigiCube (1st Edition); Square Enix (Reprint)
Catalog No.: SSCX-10048; SQEX-10027
Release Date: January 24, 2001; July 22, 2004
Purchase: Buy at CDJapan


Final Fantasy IX is my absolute favorite piano collections album. I can't think of a piece that I don't like. Some of the tracks either are fairly challenging or sound challenging, but they are wonderful on the piano. The main tunes are not lost with these arrangements. "Vamo' Alla Flamenco" or "Eternal Harvest" are pieces that you would want to master and show off to your friends. There are a couple of easier ones that sound very close to the original on the Original Soundtrack which are not that hard to play.

Track-by-Track Reviews

1) Eternal Harvest

A very impressive piece of Freya's little square dance. Louis Leerink did an amazing job on this album, and his skills are shown in this fast paced and catchy piece. It is a bit repetitive, but it still takes some time to master it. (10/10)

2) Hermit's Library - Daguerreo

I don't know how to describe this piece except that it seems like a "cute" little ditty. It's light hearted, bouncy and has a beautiful melody. (9/10)

3) The Place I'll Return to Someday

This is the main menu theme, which is a sad and wistful tune. It cheers up a bit later on though and then tapers off. (8/10)

4) Vamo' Alla Flamenco

This piece would be easier if my hands were bigger. Another fast-paced and lively piece played during the stage fight in the beginning of the game. The performance of this song is extraordinary. (10/10)

5) Frontier Village Dali

This is one of the more mellow pieces that seem a bit melancholy but happy at the same time if that makes any sense. It's not as exciting as some of the other ones but it's a lovely tune. (8/10)

6) Bran Bal, the Soulless Village

A soft and mystifying piece. It sounds like depressing lounge music to me. This is one of the slower tracks on the album. (7/10)

7) Endless Sorrow

A heart-rending and compassionate melody that stays true to the original music and sounds even better on the piano. Even though it is repetitive, it is still a pleasure to listen to. (9/10)

8) You're Not Alone!

This piece starts off quiet and with a lot of staccato. It transitions to a more dramatic melody, which is what I look forward to. (8/10)

9) Two Hearts That Can't be Stolen ~ Towards That Gate

This was the music played in the end which made the game entirely worth your time. For those who have finished the game, you can probably picture the entire ending while listening to this track. There is a wide range of emotions that are incorporated into this piece. An unforgettable ending for sure. (9/10)

10) Rose of May

This is also known as "Rose of May" or "Beatrix's Theme." Although I really enjoy this piece, I find the Original Soundtrack version more emotional than this arrangement. This version was more complicated than necessary. The original tune itself was a simple and alluring melody, which I preferred. (8/10)

11) Sleepless City Treno

This sounds exactly like the Original Soundtrack version. Treno is a fun and playful tune that is easy to play. (9/10)

12) Where Love Doesn't Reach

Also known as "Unfathomed Reminiscence," this is a piece that represents the mood of Final Fantasy IX. This track portrays the many themes of the game: hope, love, happiness, and friendship. (8/10)

13) Final Battle

The only sinister and evil piece out of the entire album. From the title you can probably guess why. Many times it's hard to convert complicated battle themes to the piano, but this one turned out well. (9/10)

14) Melodies of Life

The song for Final Fantasy IX is definitely up to par with the "Eyes on Me" if not better. It has such a captivating and touching melody. It is definitely a "cute" piece. (10/10)


As you can see there are very few tracks that I didn't particularly enjoy. This album was a great selection out of the entire score of Final Fantasy IX. There are many remarkable tunes from the game, and this the piano collections covers only a small fraction of them.

Overall Score: 10/10