- Atlus
  - Capcom
  - Cave
  - Falcom
  - Irem
  - Konami
  - Microsoft
  - Namco Bandai
  - Nintendo
  - Nippon Ichi
  - Grasshopper
  - Sega
  - Sony
  - Square Enix
  - Western Games

  - Castlevania
  - Chrono
  - Dragon Quest
  - Final Fantasy
  - Kingdom Hearts
  - Mana
  - Mario
  - Megami Tensei
  - Mega Man
  - Metal Gear
  - Resident Evil
  - SaGa
  - Silent Hill
  - Sonic
  - Star Ocean
  - Street Fighter
  - Suikoden
  - Tales
  - Ys
  - Zelda

  - Masashi Hamauzu
  - Norihiko Hibino
  - Kenji Ito
  - Noriyuki Iwadare
  - Koji Kondo
  - Yuzo Koshiro
  - Shoji Meguro
  - Yasunori Mitsuda
  - Manabu Namiki
  - Hitoshi Sakimoto
  - Motoi Sakuraba
  - Tenpei Sato
  - Yoko Shimomura
  - Koichi Sugiyama
  - Masafumi Takada
  - Nobuo Uematsu
  - Michiru Yamane
  - Akira Yamaoka

Home Contact Us Top


12 Sep 2010 - EXCLUSIVE: Symphonic Legends Program Announcement

On September 23, Symphonic Legends will celebrate the music of Nintendo at the Cologne Philharmonic Hall. Created by the acclaimed team of Symphonic Fantasies and Symphonic Shades, comprising producer Thomas Boecker, lead arranger Jonne Valtonen, and the WDR Radio Orchestra, the concert promises to be an original and ground-breaking tribute to one of the most popular video game developers.

We are delighted to be able to reveal the program of the concert for you today. The first half of the concert will feature symphonic suites dedicated to favourites from the Super Mario, F-Zero, Donkey Kong, Pikmin, and Star Fox series by guest arrangers including Shiro Hamaguchi, Hayato Matsuo, Masashi Hamauzu, Torsten Rasch, and Roger Wanamo.

Symphonic Legends

Following an intermission, second half of the concert will be entirely dedicated to an expansive symphonic poem dedicated to The Legend of Zelda. Valtonen's 35 minute epic will tell the story of Link's evolution from child to hero. There will also be an original opening fanfare by Valtonen that was unveiled earlier this year. The full program details are below:

First Half

1. Fanfare for the Common 8-Bit Hero
    Composed by Jonne Valtonen

2. Star Fox :: Space Suite
    Composed by Koji Kondo & Hajime Hirasawa
    Arranged by Shiro Hamaguchi

3. Super Mario Bros. :: Retro Suite
    Composed by Koji Kondo
    Arranged by Roger Wanamo

4. F-Zero :: Race Suite
    Composed by Yumiko Kanki & Naoto Ishida
    Arranged by Shiro Hamaguchi

5. Metroid :: Samus Aran - Galactic Warrior Suite
    Composed by Kenji Yamamoto & Minako Hamano
    Arranged by Torsten Rasch

6. Donkey Kong Country :: Aquatic Ambience
    Composed by David Wise
    Arranged by Masashi Hamauzu

7. Pikmin :: Variation on a World Map Theme
    Composed by Hajime Wakai
    Arranged by Hayato Matsuo

8. Super Mario Galaxy :: Galactic Suite
    Composed by Koji Kondo & Mahito Yokota
    Arranged by Roger Wanamo

Second Half

9. The Legend of Zelda :: Symphonic Poem

    I. Hyrulian Child
    II. Dark Lord
    III. Princess of Destiny
    IV. Battlefield
    V. Hero of Time

    Composed by Koji Kondo & Toru Minegishi
    Arranged by Jonne Valtonen

In an interview supplement, Boecker reveals details about the arrangements and performances of Symphonic Legends. He discusses how and why arrangements of material such as Super Metroid, Super Mario Galaxy, and The Legend of Zelda will push artistic boundaries, the latter especially. He explains that the concert will nevertheless still say true to the melodic focus and light-hearted nature of Nintendo's games, and promises the 'best of both worlds' from the concepts of 'Shades' and 'Fantasies'.

Symphonic Legends will premiere on Thursday September 23 at 8 PM in the Cologne Philharmonic Hall. For those who can't make it on the night, a live video stream will be available through the official website. Given three of the leaders of SEMO will be attending the concert, expect exuberant coverage shortly after.
Written by Chris Greening

Return to the Headlines